Planning to Finish

Planning and Finishing

 

It’s April now and spring planting is only a few weeks away.  I’ve already got some seedlings started in a grow tray and a handful of melons dying in peat pots.  There are big plans for the garden this spring and all that work starts now.

I have to rotate the plants from year to year and planning where to put everything requires a small map.  We’ve taken the success of last year’s companion planting and merging it with this year’s attempt at vertical gardening for more yields.  It’s been a long road from planting a few tomatoes and some onions to now cultivation more than thirty fruits and vegetables.  The complexity of such a garden requires a lot of fore thought and serious planning.

Ahh, but the end result will be worth it.  At least I hope so.

We can always have a late frost like last year that ruined half the garden.  Then there are the pests that multiply as the garden expands.  But mostly it’s the time that a big garden takes that is the biggest threat.  Will I have enough time to do the things I want and will I want to keep doing it all summer long?  I admit that I get garden weary by August and I start to let things go.  But that is the time that a garden will really start kicking things out.  Giving up near the end is a waste.

The same goes for novels.  I’m coming to the end of my novel and I just want to slap on a quick ending just to get it done with.  I find myself changing the ending everyday – well not the ending but how the hero gets to the end, you get the idea.  I see so many ways to get there and I really want to a Hollywood montage showing the hero developing, becoming better and coming up with a brilliant plant to get him out of the mess.  I want to do this without really writing it.

I could do it, after all this is just a first draft.  The real work comes in the second or even third go round.  Why not slap an ending on and be done with it?

That would be like leaving my August garden to wilt in the sun, to leave the ripening fruit to rot on the vine and let the vermin in to have their way with an untended garden.  I wouldn’t be a gardener then, I’d just be a wannabe who gave up when it got tough.

We all have projects that require time and planning.  It’s fun to plan out the first few weeks, or chapters but not so much the intricate details of the ending.  But the chapters before ending, the week before the harvest is where it counts the most.  This is when the fruit is ripest and the story the sweetest.  If we take our time, even on a first draft or a starter garden, the following season will be easier and more bountiful than we could have imagined.

2 thoughts on “Planning to Finish

Leave a Reply

