Killing Darlings and Weeds

A weed is just a plant growing where you don’t want it to grow. I’ve got hundreds of chives growing the the cracks a place where I don’t want anything to grow in. Herbacides do nothing to them – at least not the ones I use. The only way to get them out is by hand. A tedious job but one that needs to be done.

 
I also have a character that needs to be extracted from my novel (and my worldbuild). The character is Lilith. The reason is overexposure.

 
As much as I’d like to keep my Lilith character, there are far too many incarnations of the ancient demon/demigod/first woman etc… She appears in video games, comic books, everywhere you look. She’s like a teenage vampire, so… steak through the heart, rip her out of every scene in the book and come up with something more original or – in the case of the garden- nothing at all.

 
If you are like me, when you write, the story takes on a life of its own and sometimes gets away from you. More characters want stage time, sub plots begin and go nowhere. Sometimes it’s best to just yank out the mess and get on with it. In my case I dredged up an older character that just mucked up the plot even more.

 
I try very hard to make my antagonists empathetic. I give a reason why they act the way they do. I want their ‘evil’ to be logical and obvious. But sometimes, evil is just evil, the way a weed is just a weed – even if the same plant is fine so long as it grows twelve inches to the left. I don’t care if the chives are perfectly normal and doing what chives do. I don’t need them there. I have more than enough chives dried out to last years. Just as the world has enough supernatural Liliths.

 
Time to weed them both out, darlings or not, they have to go.

Leave a Reply

